MMA World Rankings

MMA World Rankings

UFC 86 Analysis

205 lbs. Title – Quinton Jackson [1] vs. Forrest Griffin [7]

Won Fight of the Night. Forrest rises to 1. Quinton drops to 2.

185 lbs. – Ricardo Almeida [24] vs. Patrick Cote [29]

Cote rises to 15. Almeida drops to 25.

155 lbs. – Joe Stevenson [10] vs. Gleison Tibau [48]

Stevenson rises to 8. Tibau rises to 45.

170 lbs. – Josh Koscheck [4] vs. Chris Lytle [15]

Koscheck stays at 4. Lytle stays at 15.

155 lbs. – Tyson Griffin [16] vs. Marcus Aurelio [30]

Tyson rises to 10. Aurelio stays at 30. 

HVY – Gabriel Gonzaga [8] vs. Justin McCully [31]

Gonazaga stays at 8. McCully stays at 31

155 lbs. – Cole Miller [62] vs. Jorge Gurgel

Won Submission of the Night. Cole rises to 59.

155 lbs. – Melvin Guillard [63] vs. Dennis Siver

Won Knockout of the Night. Melvin rises to 60.

155 lbs. – Corey Hill vs. Justin Buchholz

July 7, 2008 - Posted by | MMA Analysis | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. All that makes sense to me.
    Gutsy showing by Lytle.
    At the end I couldn’t tell if Kos was very afraid of Lytle’s hands or just didn’t want to hurt Lytle anymore.

    Almeida probably was the biggest disappointment on the card. Watching him I couldn’t help but feel that he wasn’t a very complete mmartist.

    Glad GG rolled over McCully. Glad Cole subbed Jorge (I like Cole).

    Comment by Aas Gutú Adéli | July 7, 2008 | Reply

  2. Lytle is one of my favorite fighters. He has a ton of heart and it showed vs. Kos. I think he was afraid of getting KO’d. He knew he had it in the bag, so he was retreating.

    Almeida definatley relies too much on grappling. I’d compare him Marcus Aurelio. I actually think he has decent standup but because of Cote’s power, he didn’t want to engage.

    Gonzaga is a beast. I want to see him fight the winner of Lesnar/Herring.

    I like both Cole and Jorge. That was huge for Cole, not only to get a win, but to submit a blackbelt in Gurgel.

    I’m thinking they’re gonna match up Stevenson/Griffin to take on the winner of Kenny/Huerta to fight for the belt (which I think B.J. will vacate to fight GSP in December.)

    Also, I like how Tibau is progressing. He fought Daddy and Tyson tough and just needs that breakthrough win to get over the hump. He seems dedicated but obviously needs to improve his standup.

    Comment by Kevin | July 7, 2008 | Reply

  3. A good portion of me wanted Lytle to score a KO during the third round. That would’ve been pretty magic (for him, horrible for Kos). I’d picked Lytle to win TUF 4 and didn’t agree with the decision favoring Serra in the fight that had to be the most boring Ultimate Finale final fight.

    I’d be annoyed if Penn leaves the LW division. I want him to be king of the hill and I want him to take all comers. Of course he’ll be the favorite for every fight, but if he keeps having to defend his belt against the best contenders he’ll eventually lose and that’ll be a huge day for the guy that takes the belt from him. But just because it’ll annoy me doesn’t mean it won’t happen.

    If the winner of Florian/Huerta doesn’t get to fight Penn and they’re left in the lurch, that’ll be frustrating, too. If they are shelved and fight the winner of Stevenson/T.Griffin for the belt, the belt just won’t mean what it should.

    Speaking of the LW belt, I wonder who Sherk will fight next. I wouldn’t mind it being Nate Diaz. But it might be Edgar if he beats Franca or a terrible matchup like Spencer (as a Spencer fan I’d have difficulty watching that, and if Sherk decided to stay standing with Spencer I’d be pretty annoyed with him, too).

    Comment by Aas Gutú Adéli | July 7, 2008 | Reply

  4. Forrest Griffin lost period. his highlight reel is full of leg kicks. He had Rampage down for over4 minutes and couldn’t do nothin. Joe Rogans commentary favored Gtiffin. He screamed in excitement whenever Griffin even did anything. But when Rampage was pummeling Griffin you could hear a pin drop. There were many times it seems that Rampage refused to finish Forrest Griffin off. Sonetimes Rampaged sermed to stall and let Mr. Griffin gain his wits again. UFC 86 was a travesty fo MMA. Everybody knows it. We just all wanted Forrest Griffin to win. When we get what we want, we see whatever we wish. Winning at all cost can destroy a sport.

    Comment by CorRog | July 7, 2008 | Reply

  5. I think Penn is too ambitious. He’ll probably keep bouncing around divisions. There are so many guys at 155 to fight and defend the belt against but Penn would be the favorite and I think he likes being the underdog too much.

    Sherk already beat Nick Diaz, so if Nate beat him, he would have brotherly bragging rights. Maybe Sherk vs. Gray Maynard? Either way, there are tons of fights to make at 155.

    Comment by Kevin | July 8, 2008 | Reply

  6. CorRog,

    I actually wathced the fight at a bar and couldn’t hear Rogan’s commentary. But I did think Rampage won Rounds 1 and 3 rather convincingly.

    I don’t think it ruins the sport, it’s just pretty crappy for Rampage. I will say that leaving it up to the judges is very dangerous. There have been some really bad decisions in MMA as well as boxing.

    I think a rematch would be very marketable and it would be a good way to allow Rampage to settle all contraversy in the cage.

    Comment by Kevin | July 8, 2008 | Reply

  7. @CorRog
    I disagree. About a number of things.
    First, it doesn’t matter if Rogan has a bias (to me). Sometimes I share it, sometimes I don’t. I don’t think it has anything to do with judging.

    The judging is subjective. I couldn’t hear Rogan because I was in a loud bar. I thought it was a great fight. On my scorecards I had each fighter with 2 rounds going into round 5. (Rampage 1 and 4, Forrest 2 and 3). I thought Forrest won round 5. Many rounds were very close and hard to judge.

    I like both guys. I’d picked Rampage to win. But by the end I was convinced Forrest won (even before the decision was announced). There weren’t boos in the bar I was at. I had no idea that there was any controversy about the decision until I got home.

    I expected to check Sherdog and discover that people were talking about how impressed they were with Forrest.

    As far as your theory that Rampage refused to finish Forrest, I don’t think he was ever that close to finishing him and the leg kicks had definitely taken the skip out of his step. Rampage wasn’t the aggressor of the fight (and I wouldn’t have guessed that going in).

    Comment by Aas Gutú Adéli | July 8, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

