MMA World Rankings

MMA World Rankings

DREAM 5 Analysis

155 lbs. – Eddie Alvarez [19] vs. Tatsuya Kawajiri [7]

WOW!! Incredible performance by Eddie Alvarez. He is the most exciting fighter in the sport today. He is the Arturi Gatti of MMA. Kawajiri dropped him with a vicious left hook that would have finished most fighters but Eddie held on to survive. He regained his senses, escaped mount…stood up and marched forward eating punches from Kawajiri in order to land some of his own. He kept coming forward with straight lefts and rights until Kawajiri fell. Eddie then finished him with hammer strikes. I can’t say enough about this performance! It is the stuff legends are made of. Alvarez rises to 2. Kawajiri drops to 12.

155 lbs. – Shinya Aoki [2] vs. Caol Uno [11]

Shinya Aoki should be nicknamed the python. He grabs a hold of his opponent and doesn’t let go until they are submitted or until the bell rings. He showed why he is arguably the best submission fighter in MMA. He trapped Uno in a brilliant triangle choke that should have finished it. Uno flashed his greatness simply by escaping the sure submission. It was moot however as Aoki transitioned from submission to submission en route to a unanimous decision victory. Uno drops to 13.

155 lbs. – Shinya Aoki [2] vs. Joachim Hansen [21]

Eddie Alvarez was not medically cleared to participate in the final so Hansen stepped in his place. Hansen beat Kultar Gill earlier in the night to become the official alternate. Aoki looked to grab and control Hansen in the beginning but Hansen proved too strong to keep tamed. He postured up and reigned down hard punches to Aoki’s face. Just over 4 minutes into the fight, Hansen landed a final left hand to the downed Aoki which caused the referee to step in and stop the fight. Hansen rises to 3. Aoki drops to 4.

HVY – Alistair Overeem [19] vs. Mark Hunt [29]

Overeem rises to 15. Hunt stays at 29.

July 21, 2008 - Posted by | MMA Analysis

11 Comments »

  1. Hansen to 3 and Alvarez to 2 , this is too much.

    Hansen has only beaten Aoki (rematch) and Alvarez has beaten Hansen and Kawajiri.

    I can see Alvarez being 4 or 5 and Hansen back in the top 10 , but 2 and 3??

    And Crusher should still be in the top 10.

    Comment by Feo | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. It does seem extreme at first glance but the problem is where do I put Aoki? Don’t you think Hansen should be ahead of Aoki?

    In the last 3 years, Kawajiri has 3 significant wins: Luis Firminho [48], Luis Azeredo [47] and Hansen (by DQ)

    I’m not saying you’re wrong but i’m just saying how I see things. I’d be interested to see what your top 10 would be, because I can’t see any alternative.

    Comment by Kevin | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. My PC put Hansen to 2, Gomi 3, Alvarez 4, Aoki 5.

    Hansen’s tourney win and TKO defeat of Aoki overshadows Alvarez.

    Kawajiri is too inconsistent.

    Comment by JCS | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  4. JCS,

    I wouldn’t argue too much with that. I just have a problem keeping Gomi ahead of all these guys with him being inactive. His situation is not the same as Fedor’s.

    I love watching Kawajiri fight, but he needs a solid win quick to prevent a slide.

    Comment by Kevin | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  5. on the dream show they make reference to rankings. What rankings are these?

    Comment by Mike | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  6. Mike,

    There are several rankings sites out there. The ones they were referring could be any of them. I believe you’re referencing when Bas said “Aoki is ranked 3rd in the world”? Most sites had him at either 2 or 3 so it was the popular consensus.

    Comment by Kevin | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  7. Kevin,
    I’ve been (and will likely remain) a frequent poster on this site, I just wanted to mention that I’m launching my own mma nonsense. I feel between you and fightmatrix there is already fine coverage of rankings of fighters.

    I’ve taken it upon myself to rank the the fights and events. This is of course crazy subjective.

    (My failing will no doubt be frequency of the exercise, or that the mma posts will get lost in the wash with my ramblings about my job, smartphones, movie reviews, etc).

    This first one is a bit cluttered as there were so many events recently and a bit screwed up since I got sick during Banned and didn’t get to see it all the way through.

    for your consideration:
    http://www.stevenlong.net/blog/?p=389

    Comment by Aas Gutú Adéli | July 22, 2008 | Reply

  8. Gutu,

    The site looks very good. It’s extremely in depth (just how I like it) and you’re a trustworthy source. I’ll definately steer people towards it when they ask me what sites I favor most. I’m sure i’ll be checking up on it frequently. Good luck with it and learn to love the flaming!!:)

    Comment by Kevin | July 23, 2008 | Reply

  9. Oh, I’m used to it.
    A couple of months ago I posted my event rankings of 2008, I definitely got a taste of hate from most sides. Sometimes it was just people that were of the opinion that Ill Will was better than Breaking Point. Ill Will edged Breaking Point out as far as high ranked participants and build up (for Penn/Sherk).

    Then I had people call me a troll for ranking Dream.4 as low as I did.

    I do think there is a bit of a science to ranking fighters like you do, ranking events on the other hand…

    Comment by Aas Gutú Adéli | July 23, 2008 | Reply

  10. Haha,

    sounds familiar. I just laugh it off. I find it funny how many people don’t understand the concept of differing opinions.

    Comment by Kevin | July 23, 2008 | Reply

  11. No kidding, I clicked on a fairly negative review on Rotten Tomatoes just to read some dissent. I thought the review was well done, but people seemed to hate him, they couldn’t believe he couldn’t love the movie.

    http://www.thehousenextdooronline.com/2008/07/trickster-heaven-two-faced-hell-dark.html

    Comment by Aas Gutú Adéli | July 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

